Advanced Analytical Tools for Monitoring Food Packaing Materials

Library Number:
WEBC134953377
Author(s):
Sarah Dubail
Source:
Hosted by C&EN
Content Type:
On Demand Webinar
Content Subtype:
Compliance and Regulatory
Related Products:
 
 
 

Evaluation of Packaging Safety: View of a Coating Producer - Migrants Characterization using Advanced Analytical Tools 

Tuesday, September 26, 2017
10:00 a.m. EDT | 7:00 a.m. PDT | 15:00 BST | 16:00 CEST
Hosted by Chemical & Engineering News 

 Speaker:

Sarah Dubail

Packaging Coatings,
Senior Regulatory Analyst
The Sherwin-Williams Company

Abstract:

Canned food has many advantages, among them the decrease of food waste, protection against microbiological contamination, longer shelf life, as well as removing the need to preserve additives. This requires high performance coatings on the internal (food contact) side of the cans, to protect the food from the metal and the metal from aggressive foodstuffs to ensure that its nutritional quality and taste are preserved throughout the product shelf life. After decades of using Bisphenol A based epoxy coatings, the metal packaging industry has moved to develop new non-BPA coating technologies and new methods to assess their safety beyond regulatory requirements.

In the absence of harmonized regulations for can coatings in Europe, other than the framework regulation 1935/2004 and facing this challenge, industry has had to think out of the box. In the U.S, can coatings are regulated by FDA, but in Europe only national legislation applies except for a few substance specific measures.

In this webinar, the view of a coating producer will be presented, from the conception of a new coating to the extensive amount of chemical information generated to approve a new substance, conduct its risk assessment, and implement appropriate risk management.

Participants Will Learn:

  • Gain a better understanding of the benefits of canned food and the chemistry and science behind the coatings for food and beverage cans.
  • How new products are designed to ensure consumer safety and compliance with appropriate legislation.
  • How high resolution mass spectrometry (HRMS) provides the most useful platform for identifying unknown substances and how different analytical tools are utilized to build confidence in identification and quantification of unknowns.